1993 – Live: Right Here, Right Now [CD] (Van Halen) is released

Van Halen

1993 – Live: Right Here, Right Now [CD] (Van Halen) is released this day in rock history!
Release date: 1993-02-23

Live: Right Here, Right Now. is the one and only live album by American hard rock band Van Halen, released in 1993. The album combines songs performed over two nights in May 1992 at the Selland Arena in Fresno, CA. The bulk of the songs on this album were from the first night, such as the solos performed by Eddie Van Halen and Sammy Hagar. There is much debate as to whether or not the songs on this album have been doctored in the studio, as the original 1992 broadcast of these songs from Cabo Wabo, were much more raw and unmixed sounding, and actually sounded more true to the bands’ live sound, than the actual album itself.

The album contained four David Lee Roth era songs (including Van Halen’s arrangement of “You Really Got Me” by The Kinks), and two songs from Sammy Hagar’s solo years. It also featured drum and bass solos and a cover of a song by The Who. As is the case with most tours, the band had been focusing on songs from the new album for the tour’s duration. The then-current album, For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge is very well represented, with ten of the twenty four songs originally featured on that album.

Track listing

All songs credited to Michael Anthony, Sammy Hagar, Alex Van Halen and Edward Van Halen except where noted.

Disc 1

  1. “Poundcake” – 5:28 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  2. “Judgement Day” – 4:52 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  3. “When It’s Love” – 5:22 (from OU812)
  4. “Spanked” – 5:08 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  5. “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love” (Anthony/Roth/Van Halen/Van Halen) – 4:37 (from Van Halen)
  6. “In ‘n’ Out” – 6:20 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  7. “Dreams” – 4:49 (from 5150)†
  8. “Man on a Mission” – 4:49 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  9. “Ultra Bass” – 5:15 (Michael Anthony bass solo)
  10. “Pleasure Dome/Drum Solo” – 9:38 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge/Alex Van Halen drum solo)
  11. “Panama” (Anthony/Roth/Van Halen/Van Halen) – 6:39 (from 1984)
  12. “Love Walks In” – 5:14 (from 5150)
  13. “Runaround” – 5:21 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)

Disc 2c

  1. “Right Now” – 6:13 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  2. “One Way to Rock” (Hagar) – 4:58 (Sammy Hagar solo song, from Standing Hampton)
  3. “Why Can’t This Be Love?” – 5:22 (from 5150)
  4. “Give to Live” (Hagar) – 5:39 (Sammy Hagar solo song, from I Never Said Goodbye)
  5. “Finish What Ya Started” – 5:50 (from OU812)
  6. “Best of Both Worlds” – 5:00 (from 5150)
  7. “316” – 11:37 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)
  8. “You Really Got Me/Cabo Wabo” (Ray Davies/Anthony/Hagar/Van Halen/Van Halen) – 7:58 (cover from Van Halen, originally by The Kinks/from OU812)
  9. “Won’t Get Fooled Again” (Pete Townshend) – 5:41 (cover, originally by The Who)†
  10. “Jump” (Anthony/Roth/Van Halen/Van Halen) – 4:26 (from 1984)†
  11. “Top of the World” – 4:59 (from For Unlawful Carnal Knowledge)

Bonus Disk

On German/Japanese versions of the album, or in the Van Halen Box: 1986-1993(only available in Japan), a bonus disk is included. This includes the B-Sides to the “Jump” Single and were recorded in Tokyo on February 2nd, 1989, as part of the OU812 Tour.

  1. “Eagles Fly” (Hagar) – 6:03 (Sammy Hagar solo song, from I Never Said Goodbye)
  2. “Mine All Mine” – 5:27 (from OU812)
Be Sociable, Share!

Leave a Reply